exhaustion

There are many words that are used to describe this condition. They reflect the experiences, the consequences of this condition and give a clear warning:

  • Exhaustion means: the cup is empty, there isn’t a drop left, there’s nothing left to get from the source.

  • Burnout makes it even clearer: everyone knows you can’t let a fire go out if you want to rekindle it.

  • Overload: for every lorry driver there are strict load limits, which are stringently controlled. Exceeding the limit can break the vehicle’s axes and lead to an accident for the driver and others.

 

But often we think we stand above these experiences – through a mixture of overestimating ourselves and glorifying our abilities (I can do it all!) and adhering to the belief ingrained in our Western culture that “achievement” is an ideal we need to strive towards.

Our over-confidence is also the source of our power to overcome and break down barriers. Crossing boundaries can be extremely fruitful and inspiring. But not all the time, and not without taking into account our energy reserves.

If we don’t pay attention to these rules, the state of constant overexertion will inevitably lead to collapse – if not in ourselves, then in our immediate environment. Every human being is part of one or more systems, which he or she directly influences.

In the context of energy-focused  personality coaching we can find out how to you can perform to your best abilities while not falling into a state of exhaustion.

Erschöpfung

Die Sprache hat für diesen Zustand diverse sehr klare Bilder herangezogen. Sie spiegeln die Erfahrungen wider, welche Folgen dieser Zustand hat und geben eine deutliche Warnung ab:

  • Er-schöpfung bedeutet: der Kessel ist leer, kein Tropfen mehr, aus der Quelle ist nichts mehr zu holen.

  • Ausgebrannt macht es noch deutlicher: Jeder von uns weiß, dass wir ein Feuer nicht ausbrennen lassen dürfen, wenn wir es wieder entfachen möchten.

  • Überlastung: Für jeden LKW gibt es klare Lastgrenzen, die streng kontrolliert werden. Bei Überschreitung drohen die Achsen zu brechen und es besteht Unfallgefahr mit Folgen für den Fahrer und Andere.

 

Wir aber fühlen uns über diese Erfahrungen oft erhaben, durch eine Mischung aus Selbstüberschätzung und -glorifizierung (ICH schaffe alles) sowie einer historisch gewachsenen Überbewertung von Leistung als höchstes Gut in der westlichen Gesellschaft.

Tatsächlich liegt in diesem Übermut die große Kraft des Menschen, Grenzen zu überwinden und zu sprengen. Grenzüberschreitungen können sehr fruchtbar und beflügelnd sein. Jedoch: Nicht permanent und ohne Rücksicht auf den Energiehaushalt.

Wenn wir seine Gesetze nicht beachten, wird der Zustand der Überstrapazierung unweigerlich zum Kollaps führen. Wenn nicht bei uns selbst, dann im unmittelbaren Umfeld. Denn jeder Mensch ist Teil eines bzw. mehrerer Systeme, die er direkt beeinflusst.

Wie es gelingen kann, Höchstleistung zu bringen und trotzdem nicht in den Zustand der Erschöpfung zu geraten, können wir im Rahmen des energetischen Persönlichkeitscoachings zielgenau herausfinden.